Under the Elephant

As I sit here on a lazy Sunday afternoon, I can think of no better soundtrack to a day like this than the new album, Eleventh Hour, by the band Under The Elephant.  For those of you who have followed my blog for a while, you know my history with singer Ben Jelen.  Well, Ben got together with his old label mate, Josh McMillan (from the Deuce Project), and with a few other friends they created Under The Elephant. 

First of all, I love the fact that they took their time to develop themselves.  It shows.  The music is solid, fun, and creative.  Josh’s lead vocals are entirely complimented by the harmonies of Ben, Tina, and Lisa as they banter back and forth.  It’s not something you often hear outside of a choir, but it’s done in such a way that it gives the music a great feel.  Stan and Steve round out the lineup on bass and drums and keep the groove going. It’s pop, it’s rock, it’s gospel, it’s music with heart and that makes all the difference.

One of my favorite songs is called Warm and Tender.  I just love the way it feels.  It’s also interesting how they twist things musically partway through it.  You just get comfortable and then they blow your mind!  Love it!

The first Under the Elephant song I heard was The Beautiful Shuffle.  There is just something about the groove of this song.  First you sort of find your foot tapping.  It travels up to your neck and the head begins to bob.  Pretty soon you’re snapping or clapping along to the beat, and before you  know it, you have wiggles that won’t stop.  I find myself getting odd looks from passers-by when I have this going in my vehicle. hehe

Lastly, I give you my two favorites.  One is called Sail On and is just….beautiful.  I’m not sure what’s more gorgeous, the piano,the guitar, or the voices in that one. The other is called The Mission and it’s another that I just have to crank and sing along at the top of my lungs with the windows down every time it comes on. 

If you’d like to check out Under the Elephant, you can find them on their Official Site, Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.  Their debut album is available for download on Bandcamp.  Great album for summer! Grab it and enjoy!

~ by musicloveaffair on June 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
