A little bit of Culcha….

Last night was house cleaning night.  In usual fashion, I put in the ear buds and went to work.  Music is a must in general, but I was tired and mentally shot and seriously needed something to keep me going and get me through.  I scrolled through my playlists, searching for something I was in the mood for, something upbeat and fun, something that would lift the exhaustion from my shoulders and get me moving. 

Enter…..Culcha Candela.  I found this band maybe a year ago or more on the culture mix site that I have blogged about before.  Formed in Berlin, Culcha Candela is primarily based in Germany, BUT do not make the mistake of pigeon-holing them into simply being a German band.  Roughly translated, Culcha Candela means “bright culture” and consists of members from 4 different continents and even more countries (Germany, Uganda, Korea, and Columbia to name a few). Needless to say, this creates an interesting mix.  They’re lyrics are a mixture of German, English, Spanish, and Patois and they bring beats and hooks from each culture, mashing them up into an irresistible combination that will get your hips moving…guaranteed. 

One of my favorite songs by them is called “Hamma” which is basically slang for “coolest thing since sliced bread.”  The language is German, but sung in Reggae tones, and put to a latin beat.  Epic!  Plus, I just love the little dance they do to it.

If it’s straight up dance music you’re looking for, Culcha Candela has that as well.  One of their big hits is called “Monsta” and you’ll wish you had a dance floor to hop on when you hear it.  Personally, I use my kitchen.  It’s large and provides the room necessary for me to really get down to this song.

Looking for something a little more latin to shake your booty too?  Look no further.  Culcha is here for that too.  “I Like It” is a familiar song to most, but you’ve never heard it like this before. 

Another thing I love about them is that they are active in helping out charities around the globe and sing out on cultural issues as well. “Schoene Neue Welt” is a great one as well as this one called “African Children” (sung in english for everyone to understand…but the Hebrew subtitles might come in handy for someone as well. lol).

You can find Culcha Candela on their official site.  They are also on MySpace, Facebook, and YES…US iTunes.

~ by musicloveaffair on May 14, 2011.

One Response to “A little bit of Culcha….”

  1. I love the guy with the low voice .. he cracks me up 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
