The truth about Teitur….

OK, OK….I’ll fess up now.  I have no great truth about Teitur at all….it just sounded good.  The only truth I really know is that I love his music.  His full name is Teitur Lassen and I discovered him (unusually) from his very first album.  Usually, I can tell you exactly HOW I discovered an artist. Not so with Teitur.  I can’t really remember how I came across his first album, Poetry and Aeroplanes. Fate perhaps?  He’s not been on any video channels that I can remember and I don’t recall hearing his song in a commercial.  I just don’t know, and the truth is, it doesn’t really matter. 

Teitur’s music is, in two words, simply lovely.  It’s not complicated, although it isn’t uncomplicated either.  He has beautiful orchestration and there’s a lot going on there, but it all blends so well that you don’t really notice it unless you stop to listen.  His music and voice create a sound that lulls you.  I say that not in a bad way, as if he puts you into some sort of instant coma or something.  What I mean is that it transports you, perhaps back to a time when you were nursing a broken heart, perhaps to private dance you shared with someone in your living room, or perhaps to a windswept rocky beach where the waves crash below you, the cold spray leaving little specks of itself on your wool sweater. 

One of my favorite songs is called “You’re the Ocean”.  I would try to describe it to you, but I’ll let the song speak for itself.

Another great one is called “Sleep With the Lights On”.  I think we have all been in this “place” before and it speaks to that person that we used to be. 

His newest album is called Let the Dog Drive Home.  He’s still as brilliant as he was on his first album and if you’re looking for something a bit moody, a bit mellow, but always delivers, check it out!  Here’s the first single off of it, called “Betty Hedges”.

You can find Teitur on his Official page, Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, and all of his music on iTunes.

~ by musicloveaffair on April 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
