Because plans change…..

So, I had this whole wonderful blog planned today.  It was going to be dancy and upbeat, covered in sparkle and glitter.  You would have been up out of your seat and shakin what your mama gave you.  But, plans change.  Mother Nature decided to show her ugly face again today, and quite frankly, I feel neither sparkly nor glittery.  I feel more like giving her a big punch in the face and kick to the groin.  Yes, I’ve got the “no spring yet” blues.  Yesterday, it was fifty and gorgeous.  Today, the wind is howling and there is white stuff and rain floating in the air.  It is one of those days that makes you just want to stay in your jammies, grab the nearest pillow and comfy blanket and just curl up on the couch.  This has pretty much been my MO for most of today, but I’m taking a break from being the ultimate slug in order to make this blog post.  Don’t you feel special?  You totally should. 

I have a special set of music for days such as this.  I know, no big surprise there.  lol  I call it my “rainy day” music and it has its own playlist on my iPod.  For some, this may seem a bit depressive.  It’s really not.  My “rainy day” music is part of the whole ritual.  Curl up all cozy warm with a good book and a cup of hot tea, turn it on and listen as the gentle music echoes the pitter patter of the rain on the windows.  It’s comforting.  It’s warm and soft like the blanket that surrounds me. It’s soothing, and makes me think ok…this really isn’t that bad.  Sure, spring would be lovely, but this can be nice too.  I’m sharing some of it with you, so curl up and enjoy a rainy day Sunday with me. 

First up, A-Ha.  Most people really didnt’ follow A-Ha after the “Take On Me” single.  What they came out with afterwards is amazing and I seriously need to do a whole blog post on them.  But for now, they give us the ultimate rainy day song, originally done by the Everly Brothers. 

How about a little Billie Holiday?  Love her so much and she’s PERFECT for quiet, lazy days.

Here’s another by the guy I blogged about last night, Jamie Cullum.  This is called London Skies and fits the day perfectly.

Tasmin Archer was not overly well-known, which is sad because she was incredible.  I love this entire CD and a good portion of it is on my rainy day list.

Seriously, can there be anybody better suited to this playlist than Nora Jones?

I’ll stop before I completely bore you to tears.  It’s a start, and there are sure to be other “rainy days”.  Suffice it to say, the wind is still blowing.  Yes, there’s still snow floating from the sky, but I am warm and snuggly and my ears are full of some really great music.  It never fails me, always there when I need it, ever present and always welcomed. Enjoy!

~ by musicloveaffair on April 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
