When Pop marries Jazz…..

Hello, dear readers!!!  I apologize for my absence.  I had company and she is far more important than this blog.  I’ve also been working on some exciting things for The Catalyst magazine, so stay tuned for our new premier!!!!  *pimp pimp pimp*  While that is all well and good, I have a whole long list of artists just waiting to be blogged about!  You’re here for the music, right?  Me too, so let’s get on with it.

There are a whole set of people out there who are die-hard jazz fans. They know who played sax with which band and will postulate on which version of “Birdland” was the most well done. I am not one of them.  I can appreciate the art of it.  I get the intricate melodies it produces, the talent it takes to freeform and still make music, and granted…sometimes it has a good beat.  Quite honestly, I can only handle it for so long before I’m moving on.  Not so with tonight’s feature artist.  His name is Jamie Cullum and the set of jazz peeps I talked about would most certainly turn up their noses and complain about the way he’s destroyed their art form. To them, I say get over yourself.  Jamie Cullum is amazing and no one will ever convince me otherwise.

Jamie Cullum takes his love of jazz and mixes it masterfully with his love for pop in a way that no one else ever has.  He’s fearless, a true talent who marries the two genres and makes it effortless.  He’s not a pop musician trying to sound jazzy, or a jazz musician trying to sound poppy *coughmichaelbublecough*. He is what he is…and what he is is brilliant!  He does things with a piano that most people have never heard of.  It’s not uncommon to see him dancing on top of his grand or playing it like a set of drums.  Case in point…this video from his concert at Blenheim Palace for the song “Frontin'”.

The following song is one of my absolute favorites.  One reason is that it’s just a gorgeous song to begin with.  The second is that to watch Jamie perform this is so unbelievably moving.  It pours straight out of his soul and he sings it with such gentle power.  Words can’t even describe it.  Just watch.

Every album he puts out, he has continued to explore and grow. His newest album has some of the greatest music I’ve ever heard. The song “Mixtape” is one of my favorites off of the new album.  I made my share of mixtapes back in the day.  I kind of miss that actually. 

If you like the old classics like “I Get a Kick Out of You” or “Old Devil Moon”, Jamie is your guy.  If you like interesting remixes of more current hits like “Don’t Stop the Music” or “High and Dry”, he’s got those too.  Throw in a ton of his own music that he’s written and composed and there is never a dull moment with Jamie Cullum.  There are a bazillion and two videos of him playing live on YouTube and I encourage you to go and watch a few.  Just randomly click and you are sure to be blown away by his live performances. 

I will leave you with one last video.  This is the first song I ever heard from Jamie and it still moves me every time I hear it.  Everyone has felt this way at one time or another and Jamie couldn’t have come up with better words to describe the feeling.  It’s become a catch phrase between my friends and I for those times when we can’t really describe in words how we feel, but we just know we need to disappear inside of ourselves for a bit.  Here it is….”All At Sea.”

You can find Jamie Cullum on his Official Website, Facebook, Twitter, and his music is available on iTunes.

~ by musicloveaffair on April 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
