Because you can never have enough Bowie…..

When discussing musical icons, there is one name that invariably ends up popping into the conversation.  David Bowie hit the scene in the late 60’s/early 70’s and has continued to influence music through the generations after.  I could go on and on about all the various musical artists that have been influenced by him, how his creation of the character Ziggy Stardust changed the face of how music saw performing, how he recreated himself over and over to stay not only relevant, but at the forefront of the musical scene for decades.  I could, but I won’t.  To me, it doesn’t matter how much a musician has accomplished or who they’ve influenced.  It’s all about how it makes you feel inside, and there’s nothing that can make me “feel” quite like David Bowie. 

As I sat here thinking about this blog, I was trying to think of what it is about Bowie that strikes me so much.  Firstly, the music is inventive and creative so it never gets old.  There are always new layers to discover.  Secondly, the lyrics are intelligent and poetic, absolutely beautiful to listen to.  His music is timeless and just as relevant today as when he first released it.  It also occurred to me as I flipped through his songs on my iPod that there is a song for every mood.  I have some music I only listen to when I’m in a quiet mood, or a happy mood, or a melancholy mood….Bowie fits into them all. 

Of course, we all know his great hits.  Songs like Space Oddity, Changes, and China Girl are pretty much staples on radio stations across the globe.  However, some of my favorite David Bowie songs are the ones that were lesser known.  One of my favorites is a song called “Loving the Alien”.

He also put out one of the best love songs EVER in my opinion,  called “Wild is the Wind.”  You touch me. I hear the sound of mandolins.  You kiss me.  With your kiss my life begins.  You’re spring to me, all things to me.  Don’t you know you’re life itself?  It just doesn’t get more romantic and beautiful than that. *insert dreamy sigh here*

Let’s not forget his brilliant performance in the movie Labyrinth!

I can listen to Modern Love or Blue Jean when I’m in the mood to dance.  Rebel, Rebel and Suffragette City are there for me when I want to rock it out.  Starman is a must when I’m pondering the questions of life.  The list goes on and on.  It just goes to prove the point that you can never have enough Bowie.  I’m sure I’ll be listening to him well into my “Golden Years”.  LOL!  Ok….bad pun.  Great song. 

~ by musicloveaffair on March 14, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
