Welcome to the Scissorhood!

Get on that disco treadmill!  If you like music that is fun, fantastically put together, and will make you get up and shake your groove thing, then welcome to the Scissorhood!  If you haven’t yet heard of the Scissor Sisters, get ready for a ride.  Their lyrics range from witty and racy to touching and poignant.  The bass lines are insane!  All that’s missing when one listens to them is the glittery disco ball and electronic light show, which now that I think about it, wouldn’t be a bad addition to my living room.  

The first song I heard from them was “Take Your Mama Out”.  The guitar caught me from the first strum and I had to look them up.  Not to mention, Jake Shears in those coveralls is just too cute!

I bought the album as soon as I could and once I heard songs like “Filthy/Gorgeous” and “Music is the Victim” I knew I would be a forever fan. 

Their second album entitled “Ta-Dah” came out in 2006 and it only cemented my feelings.  It’s brilliant!!   The song “I Don’t Feel Like Dancin'” produced a number one hit for them in the UK and topped charts in several other countries.  I seriously wonder sometimes where America’s music eating public got its taste since they’ve never really exploded commercially in the US. *insert gratuitous eyeroll here* They have a steady following, however, and their fans are loyal to a fault.

This is also when I decided that if I could choose to be anyone on the Earth for a day, it would have to be Ana Matronic.  I spent countless times singing along with her to “Kiss You Off”. She just seems like she’d be such an amazing woman to be around.  She’s fashion. She’s fun.  She’s my hero. 

Last year, they came out with their third album called “Night Work”.  It took a while in the coming, but it was sooooo worth the wait.  From the very first song you will be transported into the Scissorhood party!  It’s rowdy, raunchy, and open all night!  The first single off of the album is called “Fire With Fire” and it is guaranteed to make you sing at the top of your lungs and feel really really good.  My pulse still races every time it comes on.

I have a list of artists that I would like to see live.  Scissor Sisters has definitely been in my top 3 since I first heard them and last year that dream came true.  I got to see them perform in Oakland and ok, the car got broken into, but I still have to say that it was one of the best nights of my life.  They put on an absolutely amazing performance.  Where Jake Shears gets all his energy from, I’ll never understand.  The guy just doesn’t quit!  Ana is a goddess of epic proportions.  Baby Daddy and Del Marquis are flawless.  If I had to describe the spirit of the show, I’d say it was like having a dance party with about a thousand of your closest friends.  There is such a great spirit in their music that transports itself across the crowd.  You are instantly at one with the people around you and everyone just dances and has a great time.  They are touring right now with Lady Gaga and even if you are not a Gaga fan, I’d say go…just for the Scissor Sisters experience.  They are one of the most amazing live bands I’ve ever seen, in person or on tv or internet.  In case that doesn’t convince you, here are a couple of my favorite pictures that we got that night.  (Yeah, we were front row so they are great if I do say so myself.)

You can find the Scissor Sisters on their Official Website. They are on Facebook, MySpace, and Twitter.  You can find their music in stores (just don’t look at Walmart) and on iTunes.

~ by musicloveaffair on March 5, 2011.

One Response to “Welcome to the Scissorhood!”

  1. […] &#1110nt&#959 th&#1110&#1109 article: Welcome t&#959 th&#1077 Scissorhood! Related Posts:*We're the lucky ones. Don't forget that. – Cold Case 4×10 […]

Leave a Reply

 
