They’re all grown up now…..

I’m speaking, of course, about Hanson!  You were probably one of two groups after reading that sentence.  You either let out a fangirl squee…..or, you scratched your head and said to yourself “Wait a second.  Hanson?  Aren’t they the MmmBop kids?”  If you were part of the second group, don’t feel too bad.  I did the same thing.  Do yourself a favor and forget all that.  Isaac, Tay, and Zac Hanson are all grown up now and making some really great music! 

I began my “rediscovery” of Hanson when I got interested in the music of Ben Jelen.  They toured together for a bit and being a part of one fandom or the other kind of meant we crossed paths.  I was, admittedly, reluctant at first and it took me a while (emm..a couple of years actually *blush*) before I stuck that first toe in the Hanson pool.  The only Hanson song I remembered was the infamous “MmmBop” and let’s just say, I wasn’t a fan.  It really only took one song to change my mind.  It’s called “Watch Over Me”  off of their album “The Walk” and I instantly changed my tune from a somewhat confused “Hanson?” to a roar of  “Yes! Hanson!” 

It didn’t take me long to snatch up everything I could get my hands on.  Imagine my excitement when they announced a new album to come out in June of 2010!  The album is entitled “Shout It Out” and is AMAZING!!  Their first single and video were for a song called “Thinkin’ ‘Bout Somethin'” and I defy you to sit still in your seat while listening to it!  Their newest video is called “Give A Little” and is equally as fun and upbeat!

Don’t let those two songs fool you though.  They are just as talented at harmonizing a tender ballad that will tug at your heartstrings.  This is one of my favorites.  It’s Called Me, Myself, and I.  GORGEOUS!

Not only are they great musicians, but philanthropists as well.  With their album “The Walk” they began a partnership to bring attention and aid to the poverty in Africa.  Before their concerts, they go on a walk with their fans.  For each fan that walks with them, a dollar is donated to help the poverty-stricken.  The walk is one mile long and the brothers and their fans walk the mile barefoot to symbolize what children in Africa go through each day without something as simple as shoes.  I got the opportunity to see them live for the first time at the House of Blues in LA this last fall.  I participated in the walk, and it was truly amazing to be part of such a large group of people walking barefoot around downtown Disney.  We were surrounded by the happiest place on Earth, but the scratch of the pavement on the bottoms of our feet was a good reminder of what others lack.  I was humbled and honored to be a part of the whole experience.

If you ever get a chance to see them perform, do it!  I don’t care what real life cares may try to get in your way, just forget about those and run to the concert hall.  They put on a great show.  They could keep going for hours with all they have in their repertoire now and they bring a good mix of the new and the old.  I also don’t mind saying, I may have actually danced around a bit when they played MmmBop. 

You can find Hanson on their official site HERE!  They often do livestreams and little chats with fans there as well.  You can also find them on Twitter, MySpace, Facebook, and on iTunes.

~ by musicloveaffair on February 24, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
