Like an old friend….

Do you ever have those days when you’re just not sure what you feel like listening to?  Today was one of those days.  I flipped idly through a few artists for a while, none of them really hitting the spot.  This is when that shuffle feature on my iPod comes in very handy. I can just put it on and let her fly.  I admit, I’m not sure whether with pride or a little embarrassment, that I have over 4,000 songs on my iPod.  This can keep my busy brain occupied for quite some time.  The problem with having that many songs is that sometimes you don’t get a chance to hear a lot of it. 

Every once in a while, something pops up that I haven’t heard in a long time and catches my attention.  This is what happened today.  It was “Good Intentions” by Toad the Wet Sprocket.  They were one of my favorites back in “the day” and hearing them just made me feel….hmmm…..I had to think about how it made me feel and this is what I came up with. 

We all have friends we don’t see all the time, or even talk to very often.  They were childhood buddies you used to ride bikes around the neighborhood with, highschool friends you spent your teen years with, college people you partied with, or coworkers that you kind of miss from your old job.  You may run into them once every few months, or once every few years.  You may not have seen them since your last high school reunion, but when you see them again, it’s as if time hasn’t passed at all.  You pick up right where you left off as if you have never been apart, laughing at the same old jokes and telling the same old stories.  It’s as though there’s an understanding between you.  Your souls see each other and nod, knowing that while you may not always be together, you will never truly be apart. 

That is the same feeling I get from time to time upon hearing a well-loved tune from my past.  It conjures memories and feelings associated with it.  It waves hello, and although it may have been years since I heard it last, I wave back and we are instantly friends again, and it feels wonderful.   

Hello, Toad the Wet Sprocket.  It’s good to see you again.  🙂

~ by musicloveaffair on February 22, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
