And the Grammy goes to….

Last night was the 53rd Annual Grammy awards.  Being the music lover that I am, I usually tune in to enjoy the performances and see who the big winners are.  Typically, they never pick the ones I’d like them to, but then they’ve never bothered to ask me.  ;P  I was happy with some, surprised by others. My entire twitter feed did a collective headscratch as Arcade Fire won Album of the Year.  But who really cares about the awards, right?  It’s all about the performances.

I was impressed by some, not so much by others.  I’m kind of curious to know where in the music industry handbook it tells artists that in order to entertain, they MUST have no fewer than 10 backup dancers, wear LESS than half an outfit, and HAVE to fit in at least 5 pelvic grinds.  It’s not that I have anything against any one of those things, but I’m an appreciater of talent.  I’m there for the music, not to see how many big screens you can use up or how many special effects you can wow us with.  I understand it’s a big show and all, I’d just rather enjoy the music than be on the floor in seizures from the flashing strobe lights.

That being said, as much as I dislike country music, I have to give it up to Miranda Lambert and Lady Antebellum for performing simply.  I actually really enjoyed Cee Lo’s performance and Mick Jagger is still awesome.  Barbara Streisand was as classic as ever and I loved the trio of John Mayer, Norah Jones, and Keith Urban doing “Jolene.” 

My favorite performance by far was that of Mumford & Sons, the Avett Brothers, and Bob Dylan.  I wanted to yell “Now THIS is a PERFORMANCE!”  They required no dramatic lighting, no choreographed dance moves, and they sang and played from their souls! Separately, I like them all. Put them all together and it was something to see.  If you didn’t get to see it, don’t worry.  I gotcha covered. 😉  Enjoy!

~ by musicloveaffair on February 14, 2011.

One Response to “And the Grammy goes to….”

  1. You nailed this post … I’m a big fan of groups that perform live without the hoopla, which to me is nothing more than distraction intended to hide lack of talent. I’m sick of this new era of visual bombardment. Whose songs do you think will withstand the test of time? Which artists do you think will be remembered say 100 years form now? Gaga? Bieber? Don’t make me laugh. I’ll put my money on Dylan and The Beatles.

Leave a Reply

 
