Music is everywhere….

People often ask me where I find the music I listen to.  Unless I’m asked about a specific band, this is a difficult question to answer.  I could give you a long list of resources, tidbits, and general useless knowledge that would have you passing out from boredom and wondering why you asked in the first place.  I have learned to whittle my answer down to one simple phrase.  Music is everywhere, if you just pay attention. 

Of course there’s the obvious sources of networks like MTV (wait…do they even play music anymore?) and VH1 and some of the newer ones that have come out like Fuse.  Living where I do, radio is not really a resource for me.  We have a gospel station, a country station, and a station that plays oldies all morning and the spoonfed music of the masses in the afternoon.  I choose none of the above.  If you are lucky enough to have great radio around you, I am totes jealous.  If you don’t have great radio around you, join the club, get on that internet, and find yourself a few great internet radio stations that you love.  It may take you a while to find your niche, but it’s worth it when you do. Put them on when you are puttering around the house cleaning and something is bound to catch your ear. Thinks like Pandora are great for this because they take what you already listen to and play suggestions for you.

When is the last time you were watching a movie and really took the time to pay attention to the music behind your favorite action or love scene?  It’s there, building the excitement, setting the mood, helping to put you on the edge of your seat and drawing the tear from the corner of your eye to wet your cheek.  Movie music is a huge business.  Whether you always notice it or not, music is the thing in a movie which takes your hand and leads you gently through the plot.  Next time you watch a movie, pay attention and listen, reaaalllyyy listen to that leader.  You never know what you might find. 

Check out your local music scene if you have one.  Here, that consists of karaoke at the bar on Friday night, but I’ve heard other places have great scenes. lol  You may hear something good or you may hear something awful.  Either way, you’ve gotten yourself out of the house for the night and possibly made some new friends who will tell you what they’re listening to.  win win! 

Let’s talk commercials.  “What?” you say. “Commercials are just an annoyance.  That’s why I got DVR so I could skip them.”  OK…granted, commercials are not always great and some are just downright irritating.  BUT, some commercials do a great job of incorporating some really awesome music.  Off the top of my head, I can think of at least 4 bands that I have found due to hearing their music in a commercial and taking the time to look them up.  Diet Coke commercials are usually good ones and there are many car commercials equally as great for hearing new music.  Here are three that I particularly loved…

First up is The Bodyrockers!  The song is called “I Like the Way You Move” and who could forget the guy dancing around with his diet coke! Great song to dance around to.  You can get it here.

Ringside was another band I found off of a car commercial.  Unfortunately,  I can’t remember which brand and can’t track down the commercial.  You can find Ringside on iTunes and they have just released a new album! Here is the song that was on the commercial…



Last but not least is a commercial for Dentyne.  Now, the commercial did not make me run out and switch my gum brand, but it did make me buy this album and I have never regretted it.  The band is called “Ben’s Brother” and the song is “Stuttering.”  Great stuff!!! You can find it on iTunes.

Music really is everywhere.  It’s in the stores where you shop, on the television as you watch, playing in the background at work, and an endless resource on the internet.  All you have to do is take the time to listen. 

Where do you find new music?  Let me know in the comments!!

PS.  My apologies for vids that don’t work directly.  I try to avoid that as much as possible but sometimes it can’t be helped.  I hope you still enjoy!

~ by musicloveaffair on February 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
