With “warm” hopes…

As I sit on my couch with -40 (yes, that’s as in 40 below zero) windchill outside my front door, I am listening to Travis.   If I had to describe them and their music, I would tell you to imagine yourself outside on a lush green lawn.  The grass tickles the toes of your bare feet.  It is early evening on a beautiful spring day and it’s still warm as the sun is just beginning to go down.  You hold your arms out to the warmth of the sun and feel the light breeze making your hair flutter just the slightest bit. You close your eyes and spin in circles like you did when you were young, a smile turning up the corners of your mouth as you realize that this is what it’s all about.  I’ll give you a minute……….. do you have it?   Do you feel it?  THAT is Travis. 

I only discovered them about a year ago, although they’ve been around since the late 90’s.  (What rock was I hiding under for that one?)  They are from Scotland and were huge in the UK.  I quickly nabbed up everything I could get my hands on by them and I love to listen to them on nights like these, nights when I long for the smell of spring in the air and the sight of something green.  

It’s not that all of their music is overly happy or bouncy.  I’m not sure what it is, just a “feeling” that I get when listening to them that all is right with the world.  One of my favorite songs (and this one is a bit bouncy) is called “Flowers In The Window”.  Tonight it makes me want to actually see some flowers…anywhere.  lol

Another favorite is called “Under the Moonlight” and is a duet with KT Tunstall. 



I have to put this next video in, not only because it’s one of my favorite songs by them, but because the video is done by the comedien Demitri Martin.  I love the “aaaaaahhhhh……selfish jean” shirt.  I WANT IT! 

I could go on and on sharing video after video of songs that I love by Travis.  I loved their song “Side” so much that I had to make a painting with the lyrics in it.  “We all try hard to live our lives in harmony for fear of falling swiftly overboard.  But life is both a major and a minor key. Just open up the chord.”  It is hanging in my living room to always remind me that life is what you make it. 

You can find their music on iTunes and they are on MySpace.

Now that I feel all warm and cozy on the inside…can someone please make it warm up on the outside??

~ by musicloveaffair on February 1, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
