My first fangirl moment…

Who remembers this classic?

Who could forget is more like it!  Yes, Duran Duran was my first fangirl moment.  I LOVE(D) them.  The beginnings of MTV, the suave British accents, Nick in makeup, the great bass lines and cool synthesizers all culminated in one giant big bang of awesomeness.  My walls were plastered with posters. I wore out my albums and had to replace them with new ones.  When I was flunking 8th grade history, the worst punishment my parents could come up with (and it was truly horrid) was to make me take down all the Duran Duran stuff off of my walls and give up my cassettes.  *gasp*  I would have rather been flogged. 

My friends were all into them too, and we each had our own guy.  Mine was Nick.  I was always a sucker for a guy in makeup.  Plus, he was just so artsy and “fashion”.  Simon ran a close second.  I am going to embarrass myself by telling you that I spent time in band class covering both sides of an 81/2 x 11 sheet of paper with the words “Nick Rhodes.”  I bought a three ring binder and clipped and saved every teen magazine article I came across on them and wrote little comments in the margins.  I still have this binder, by the way.  It is kept fondly in a box along with my other memories of more carefree days.  I’ve kept up with them through the years, on a smaller level.  I have all their albums and I still listen to them quite frequently. 

For those of you now tripping a little bit down memory lane, TRIP NO MORE!!!  Duran Duran is out with a new album and it is INCREDIBLE!!!!  Trust me, this is no watered down 2011 version of something that once was.  It is Duran Duran at their finest!  They worked with Mark Ronson to once again create that D2 magic.  It’s fresh and new but still keeps those roots we all loved. (Not to mention, the boys have held up quite nicely.)

The first single off of the album is called “All You Need Is Now.”  The chorus says it all.  “And you sway in the moon the way you did when you were younger when we told everybody all you need is now.  Stay with the music let it play a little longer.  You don’t need anybody. All you need is now.”  My soul can’t help but scream a resounding “YES!!!” 

Other faves of mine off the album include “Blame the Machines”, “Runway Runaway”, and “Girl Panic” which will have you feeling like you did at those sleepovers with your girlfriends.  “Leave a Light On” and “Before the Rain” will have you wiping tears from your eyes just as Save a Prayer did back in the day.  For those of you that were Duran Duran fans, I cannot say enough about this album and you MUST run to iTunes and nab it!  For those of you who weren’t, well, I feel sorry for you, (hehe) but I think you’d appreciate the musicality and spirit of this album as well. 

The album has only been released digitally so far with a release date for a solid version still pending.  You can get it on iTunes.  You can follow them on Facebook, Twitter, and their official website is http://www.duranduran.com/.  John has his own twitter here as does Simon here.

~ by musicloveaffair on February 1, 2011.

2 Responses to “My first fangirl moment…”

  1. My dream has finally arrived. Picking your brain and listening to all your music! =)

Leave a Reply

 
