The journey begins…

Here it is, my first blog.  I find myself staring at the screen, having everything and nothing to say at the same time.  Let’s begin with how I got here…

I have always loved music.  From as early as I can remember, music has been a part of my life.  My soul could not survive without it.  I remember being a young girl listening to albums and singing along.  One of my favorites was the Alice in Wonderland soundtrack and I can still recall every line of “Very Good Advice”.  When I was four, I won a talent competition in my hometown by singing every verse of “Sneaky Snake”.  My family reunions and each wedding and funeral consisted of various members of the family pulling out their instruments and gathering around the piano for an old-fashioned sing-a-long.  In short, music has been ingrained in me and fashioned me in more ways than I can possibly explain.

I have gone through many musical phases in my life.  I listened to 8 tracks in my mom’s old Mustang.  I saved allowance to buy albums by my favorites and rejoiced when cassette tapes came out and I didn’t have to worry about scratches.  I grew up in the 80’s and, as you will probably see through the course of this blog, the music that era produced will always be a love of mine.  CD’s were a miracle to me and now we’ve entered the digital age.  Ask anyone, my iPod is like my extra appendage.  I dressed like Madonna, rocked the huge mane along with the hair bands, had my share of plaid in the grunge years, and have come out the other side with a fondness for it all. 

I’m a creative person.  I love to read and paint and write.  Words are important to me, and if you follow this blog, you will probably see me quoting lyrics a LOT!  I lost my writing for a while in the general meanderings of life, but have since rediscovered my love of it and I’m working on a novel at this time.  We’ll see where that goes.

I’ve toyed off and on with the idea of blogging for a long time.  My biggest hangup?  My life is fairly dull.  I guess I always had this idea that blogging was for people who were far larger than me.  I’m married, work as a bookkeeper, have two sons, and that’s pretty much the extent of my life.  I dreamed big as everyone does in their younger years.  I wanted to work in the music industry. I wanted to be a person who would go out to the “scene” and scout out the newest, next big thing.  I still love to “discover” new music.  There is nothing quite like that thrill when you hear a new band or song that makes your heart pound and the hair on your arms stand up ( in a good way).  When I find these things, I have to share it.  I drive my friends crazy with my “Oh my God!  You HAVE to hear this!!!”  I have had several friends who say that when people ask them where they heard of this band or that song, their answer is invariably…”From Paula.” 

It’s probably stupid, but the thought of putting the two together never occured to me until someone very dear to me connected the dots.  “If you want to write, and you talk about the music you love all the time, why not write about music?”   HUGE DUH MOMENT!!!  I literally did the V8 forehead smack. 

So here I am.  My goals for this blog are few.  I simply want to share the music I love and the reasons why I love it.  I’d like to help get the word out on newer artists and reminisce about older ones. Perhaps it will gain readers, or perhaps not.  Either way, I will be better for putting it out there…and maybe, hopefully, somewhere along the way, something I share will make a difference to someone else.  And so it begins…..

~ by musicloveaffair on January 30, 2011.

4 Responses to “The journey begins…”

  1. awesome!!! I can’t wait for more!

  2. I find this perfect for you. I have often thought of blogging to release all the things I have pented up over the years. Music has been my release for years as well instead of turning to substances to ease pain. We come from the same mold twinny…I clicked the follow box.

  3. Paula, wow. This story so sounds like my own (substitute programmer for bookkeeper, one son for your two, etc.) and we’re a lot a like. I grew up in the 70’s with high school and college in the 80’s, so I get everything from 8-tracks to not being able to live without an iPod. I think I’ll enjoy your blog a lot.

Leave a Reply

 
